Forum starts in
 
SPBILF Prize

Digest 34

We are glad to present you the 34th issue of the St. Petersburg International Legal Forum Digest.

You can subscribe to regular mailing list following the link.


News of the Forum

New SPBILF Project

watch...

The Legal Forum Live project is a series of events in different cities of Russia. They involve watching online sessions of the VI St. Petersburg International Legal Forum and discussion of the relevant issues among representatives of regional legal communities.

We invite you to join the project and hold a seminar/round table/conference in your city or town! This virtual participation in the Forum work will give you an opportunity to:

  • hold an event under the SPBILF brand
  • attract attention of the world legal community to your organization: on the SPBILF website there will be a map with organizations that are taking part in Legal Forum Live
  • establish a dialogue with partners in the course of preparation and holding of the event
  • and, what is most important, you will have a chance to discuss relevant topics with your colleagues and send to the SPBILF Organizing Committee questions and proposals addressed to the international level experts: heads of legal departments in market leader companies, partners of leading legal firms, judges, and representatives of regulators.

In 2015 over 20 thousand people from 60 countries were watching discussion sessions online. The videos are published on YouTube.

If you wish to be an event organizer under the Legal Forum Live project, please contact us at live@spblegalforum.com or by phone +7 (812) 449-36-21.

«Branding is arguably the most important strategy for your firm»

Marci Krufka Taylor

more...

Your Marketing Scorecard – Branding

In countless conversations with Managing Partners, Chief Marketing Officers, Marketing Directors and Marketing Operations Directors/Managers, the question I hear over and over is: “How do we measure return on investment for our marketing spend?” Too often, the question is dismissed with the response, “Well, there is no way to know FOR SURE if our investments are worthwhile.” And to some extent, that is true.

Analyzing your firm’s marketing and business development strategies is not impossible, however, if you have implemented a thoughtful set of metrics and analytics to measure your successes and those strategies that were not successful. This article will walk you through some concrete analytics and other means of measurement that your firm can use to evaluate your marketing efforts and make more thoughtful decisions on the strategies and tactics that you utilize going forward.

Branding

Branding is arguably the most important strategy for your firm and one for which success or failure can be the most challenging to measure. Over the last 20 years, branding has gone from a nebulous concept for law firms to a recognized, must-have asset. It is incontrovertible that firms with well-established brands have the ability to charge premium rates versus their competitors, sometimes multiples of the rates charged by competitors in their markets. But, where do you start?

Brands are typically either market-driven (this is how the market perceives our strengths, so we will play to that in our communications) or marketing-driven (this is what we want to market to perceive about us, so we will ensure that this message drives all of our communications). The former is a bit easier to ascertain, demonstrate and communicate. The latter is more challenging – it can take years to accomplish – but more necessary to accomplish strategic goals.

Sometimes particular practices in your firm will have market-leading brands, while others do not. Building and communicating the brand of particular practices may be among your goals, as well, and the same principles apply.

There are a few things you can add to Your Marketing Scorecard regarding brand and measure on a one-time, or preferably, on an ongoing basis.

Client Research

Often the best place to start is to ask your clients for their perceptions. A short brand survey can glean interesting insights into how you are perceived in your most important “market,” your existing client base. (This is particularly useful for a market-driven brand.)

Questions may include:

· For what is our law firm known?

· How is our law firm perceived in the marketplace?

· Are we known for: a particular practice specialty/specialties? Knowledge of a particular industry/industries? Service delivery? Responsiveness? Client-focus? Innovation? Thought leadership?

· And the money question: How would you describe our firm to others?

If it is the only question asked, the last question above, often leads to the most candid, informative feedback. Clients will often mention a key practice or a few key practices. Sometimes they indicate that they can only provide descriptors for “their” lawyer (which brings up the cross-selling issue). Or, they will provide descriptors that highlight the attributes where you excel or that are most important to them. “Very responsive.” “Thought leaders in intellectual property for life sciences companies.” Or they may mention other qualities that stand out, “Lawyers with great integrity.” “A firm with a more relaxed style but tenacious representation.”

Taken in isolation, particular client’s comments are interesting, but when reviewed as a data set, themes begin to arise in client responses and a picture of your firm’s reputation in its existing marketplace is developed.

Market Research

If your firm is embarking on a branding or re-branding effort, the same exercise can be conducted with potential clients in your market or markets. The exercise can be very challenging – and costly – when your firm is global, national or super-regional in scope. However, it can be done with a careful analysis of key clients and their competitors (potential clients) as well as leading institutions and high-growth companies in your market or key markets. This research is more easily done when your firm’s geographic scope is limited to one or a few markets or if your firm is a boutique or limited to a few key practices. In either case, with some thoughtful consideration of key players in a given market – some who know you well but do not hire you, some with whom you have some contact and others who may not know you well at all – you can discover some key perceptions of your firm in the markets where you hope to grow.

While I typically take a hard line on keeping client satisfaction surveys strictly limited in scope to issues related to service and satisfaction only, it can be acceptable to include one branding-type question in such surveys – for example, “How do you describe our firm to others?” It can give you some valuable insights about why clients continue to use your firm while at the same time building your data set on your firm’s key attributes for branding purposes. A strong warning, however, if you go beyond a question or two like this when soliciting client satisfaction feedback, you will undermine the purpose of your client satisfaction survey and make it less likely that clients will want to participate in such an effort going forward.

If your firm operates in numerous geographies, industries and practices areas, it is important that detailed demographic information is gathered about the participants in your research – specifically, their geography, industry, type of business (type, stage, organizational structure, etc.). With this information, your data can be sliced and diced to reveal similarities and differences in client perceptions based on their profile.

Timing and Frequency

The research described above should take place at the outset of any branding project, along with secondary research regarding your firm’s market position which can be conducted by your strategy or design firm with your input or by your internal resources. In addition to providing some valuable preliminary insight, it allows your firm to set a benchmark by which you can measure the success of your efforts down the road. If the research is repeated one year, two years and five or more years after you begin, you can identify measurable differences, if any, in perceptions of your firm in the markets where you practice and the legal market at large.

New markets

There may be some markets where your firm is planning to enter or has recently entered. While perceptions in these markets may be of most interest, conducting primary research with potential clients may prove costly and may not be justified by the results you receive. Obviously, it is imperative that primary research with clients, secondary market research and other research is/was conducted before entering that market, but interviews of significant players in the business communities in those markets will likely reveal what you already know – that your firm has not yet established a reputation there.

Summary

Developing and implementing a new or refreshed firm brand can be one of your firm’s largest investments, but it can also reap the greatest rewards. Conducting the proper research at the outset of your branding initiative and tracking the results following the launch and in the years that follow is critical to ensuring the success of your brand strategy. The data may also form the most important section of Your Marketing Scorecard

Marci Krufka Taylor is an adjunct consultant with Altman Weil, Inc. She advises law firms on marketing and business development strategy, conducts marketing department audits and needs assessments, and provides marketing and business development coaching to lawyers and other professionals.

Interview

Video-interview with V SPBILF's participants

more...

Leading experts in the spheres of law, economy and international relations, heads of world companies’ legal departments, members of international legal community have been interviewed by our journalist during the V SPBILF and shared their impressions on the Forum.

Find a video-interview in each issue of the Digest and enjoy viewing!



Coming in the next issue:

The next issue of the Digest to be launched on 28 October will keep you informed about the VI SPBILF news, as well as the interview with SPBILF’s participants.

До Форума
 

Дайджест 34

Представляем Вашему вниманию тридцать четвертый выпуск информационного дайджеста Петербургского Международного Юридического Форума.

Подписка на регулярную рассылку доступна по ссылке.

Новости Форума

Новый проект Петербургского Международного Юридического Форума

смотреть...

Проект «Legal Forum Live» — это серия мероприятий в разных городах России, которые сопровождаются просмотром онлайн сессий VI Петербургского Международного Юридического Форума и обсуждением затрагиваемых на них вопросов в кругу представителей регионального юридического сообщества.

Мы приглашаем присоединиться к проекту и провести семинар/круглый стол/конференцию в своем городе! «Заочное» участие в работе Форума предоставит возможность:

  • Провести мероприятие под брендом ПМЮФ
  • Привлечь внимание представителей международного юридического сообщества к своей организации: на сайте ПМЮФ будет опубликована карта организаций-участников «Legal Forum Live»
  • Установить диалог с партнерами в ходе подготовки и проведения мероприятия
  • И, самое главное, обсудить актуальные темы в кругу коллег и направить в Организационный комитет ПМЮФ вопросы и предложения, адресованные экспертам международного уровня: главам юридических департаментов компаний - лидеров рынка, партнерам ведущих юридических фирм, судьям, представителям государственных регуляторов

В 2015 году за ходом дискуссионных сессий онлайн следили более 20000 человек из 60 стран. Видеозаписи опубликованы на канале YouTube.

Если Вы хотите выступить организатором мероприятия в рамках «Legal Forum Live» просим обращаться по почте live@spblegalforum.com или по телефону +7 (812) 449-36-21.

«Брендинг - это самая важная стратегия для вашей компании»

Марси Круфка Тейлор

читать далее...

Брендинг как маркетинговая система показателей

В бесконечных беседах с управляющими партнерами, директорами по маркетингу и менеджерами по маркетинговой деятельности я снова и снова слышу один и тот же вопрос: «Как измерить доходность инвестиций в сферу маркетинга?» Очень часто они тут же сами отвечают: «Но ведь невозможно знать НАВЕРНЯКА, что инвестиции были оправданными». В определенной степени это так.

При этом не так уж невозможно проанализировать маркетинговую стратегию и стратегию развития бизнеса вашей фирмы, если вы внедрили продуманный набор показателей и аналитических данных для измерения успеха и оценки тех стратегий, которые не были успешными. Данная статья познакомит вас с конкретной аналитикой и другими средствами измерения, которые ваша компания может использовать для оценки маркетинговых усилий и принятия более продуманных решений по стратегии и тактике продвижения вперед.

Брендинг

Можно утверждать, что брендинг - это самая важная стратегия для вашей компании, при этом самым сложным вызовом будет измерение ее успешности или неудачи. За последние 20 лет брендинг прошел путь от туманной концепции для юридических фирм до признанного обязательного актива. Компании с общепризнанными брендами, несомненно, обладают возможностью устанавливать наценку на свои услуги в отличие от конкурентов, и эта наценка может в разы превосходить цены конкурентов на рынке. Но с чего начать?

Бренды обычно развиваются под воздействием рынка (это то, как рынок воспринимает наши сильные стороны, поэтому мы используем это в нашей коммуникации) или в результате маркетинговых действий (как мы хотим, чтобы рынок нас воспринимал; эта идея будет двигать вперед всю нашу коммуникацию). Первый вид брендов немного легче установить, продемонстрировать и коммуницировать. Второй тип гораздо сложнее – на создание такого бренда могут уйти годы – но он более важен для достижения стратегических целей.

Иногда отдельные практики вашей фирмы будут иметь лидирующие на рынке бренды, а другие нет. Среди ваших целей может быть создание и коммуникация бренда для отдельного вида деятельности, в этом случае применяются те же принципы.

Вы можете добавить в вашу маркетинговую систему показателей несколько пунктов, которые вы измерите один раз или же, что более предпочтительно, будете измерять на долгосрочной основе.

Изучение клиентов

Часто самый лучший способ состоит в выяснении восприятия ваших клиентов. Небольшое исследование бренда может высветить интересную информацию, как вас воспринимает клиентская база в вашем самом важном рынке (это особенно полезно для брендов, развивающихся под воздействием рынка).

Возможные вопросы:

· Чем известна наша юридическая фирма?

· Как наша юридическая фирма воспринимается на рынке?

· Нас знают из-за конкретной области (областей) специализации? знания конкретной отрасли (отраслей)? предоставления услуг? ответственности? ориентации на клиента? инноваций? передовых практик?

· Вопрос о деньгах: как бы вы описали нашу компанию?

Если задается только один последний вопрос, часто можно получить самую честную информативную обратную связь. Клиенты часто упоминают основную практику или несколько ключевых областей. Иногда они указывают, что могут описать только «своего» юриста (это подводит нас к вопросу перекрестных продаж). Или же они описывают характеристики, в которых вы сильны, и для них это самое важное. «Очень ответственная». «Лидеры в области интеллектуальной собственности для медико-биологических компаний». Или они могут отметить другие выдающиеся качества: «Очень честные юристы». «Фирма с более непринужденным стилем, но тщательной проработкой».

Взятые по отдельности конкретные комментарии клиентов могут быть интересными, но при комплексном анализе в ответах клиентов прослеживаются темы, и складывается картина репутации вашей фирмы на рынке.

Исследование рынка

Если ваша фирма инициирует процесс брендинга или ребрендинга, то же самое упражнение может быть проделано с потенциальными клиентами вашего рынка или рынков. Если ваша фирма работает на глобальном, национальном уровне или ведет деятельность в нескольких регионах, такое исследование может быть очень сложным и дорогостоящим. Однако его можно провести при тщательном анализе ключевых клиентов и их конкурентов (потенциальных клиентов), ведущих институтов и быстро развивающихся компаний на вашем рынке или ключевых рынках. Такое исследование проще провести, если ваша компания работает в ограниченном географическом регионе, если вы предоставляете уникальные услуги или ограничены несколькими ключевыми практиками. В любом из указанных случаев тщательное рассмотрение ключевых игроков конкретного рынка (кто-то, кто хорошо вас знает, но не пользуется вашими услугами; кто-то, с кем у вас налажен определенный контакт; и те, кто вас вообще плохо знает) может предоставить вам основное представление о вашей фирме на рынках, где бы вы хотели развиваться.

Хотя я обычно настаиваю, что опросник о степени удовлетворенности клиента должен касаться только вопросов, связанных с услугами и уровнем удовлетворенности, в него можно включить один вопрос, связанный с брендингом, например: «Как бы вы описали нашу фирму другим?» Вы можете получить ценную информацию, почему клиенты продолжают обращаться в вашу фирму, одновременно с этим вы будете накапливать данные о ключевых характеристиках вашей фирмы для целей брендинга. Однако необходимо предупредить, что если вы превышаете лимит в один или два таких вопроса в анкете удовлетворенности клиента, вы подрываете цель такого опросника, и скорее всего клиенты менее охотно будут его заполнять.

Если у вашей фирмы широкий географический охват, если вы работаете в разных отраслях и направлениях, важно собирать демографическую информацию об участниках вашего опроса, в частности регион, отрасль, вид бизнеса (тип, стадия развития, организационная структура и т.д.). При наличии таких данных вся информация может быть сгруппирована для выявления схожих характеристик и различий в восприятии клиентов в зависимости от их профиля.

Временные рамки и частота

Описанное выше исследование должно проводиться в начале любого проекта по брендингу вместе с дополнительным анализом рыночной позиции вашей фирмы, выполненном собственными ресурсами или привлеченным консультантом по стратегии. Помимо ценного предварительного видения это позволяет вам определить исходную позицию, относительно которой вы будете измерять успешность ваших усилий. Если такое исследование проводится через год, два года, пять или более лет после начала проекта, можно выявить измеряемые отличия, если они будут, в восприятии вашей фирмы на юридическом рынке в целом и на рынках, где вы осуществляете практику.

Новые рынки

Могут быть рынки, на которых вы планируете работать, или на которые вы недавно вышли. Хотя восприятие на этих рынках может представлять наибольший интерес, проведение первичного исследования с потенциальными клиентами может оказаться очень дорогостоящим и не оправданным с точки зрения полученных результатов. Безусловно, обязательным является первичное исследование клиентов, затем рыночный анализ и другие исследования до выхода на рынок, но интервью с важными игроками бизнес сообщества на этих рынках, скорее всего, выявят то, что вы уже знаете: что ваша фирма еще не заработала там репутацию.

Заключение

Разработка и внедрение нового или обновленного бренда фирмы может быть вашей самой крупной инвестицией, но это также может привести к значительным результатам. Проведение правильного исследования в самом начале инициативы по брендингу и мониторинг результатов в последующие годы имеют критическое значение для успеха вашей стратегии бренда. Эти данные также могут стать важным разделом вашей маркетинговой системы показателей.

Марси Круфка Тейлор – адъюнкт-консультант в фирме Altman Weil, Inc., консультирует юридические фирмы по вопросам маркетинга и стратегии развития, занимается аудитом и оценкой потребностей отделов маркетинга, проводит коучинг по бизнес-развитию для юристов и других специалистов.

Интервью

Видео-интервью с участниками V ПМЮФ

читать далее...

Во время проведения V Петербургского Международного Юридического Форума ведущие эксперты в области права, экономики и международных отношений, руководители юридических подразделений крупнейших мировых компаний, представители международного юридического сообщества согласились дать интервью нашему корреспонденту и поделиться впечатлениями о Форуме.

В каждом выпуске Дайджеста Вас будет ждать новое интервью, следите за обновлениями!



В следующем выпуске дайджеста:

В следующем выпуске дайджеста, который выйдет 28 октября, мы расскажем о ходе подготовки к VI ПМЮФ и продолжим серию интервью с участниками Форума.